



Delta Counties Coalition

Contra Costa County · Sacramento County · San Joaquin County · Solano County · Yolo County "Working together on water and Delta issues"

June 19, 2024

The Honorable Mike McGuire Senate President pro Tempore 1021 O Street, Suite 8518 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Ben Allen California State Senate 1021 O Street, Suite 6610 Sacramento, CA 95814 The Honorable Robert Rivas Assembly Speaker 1021 O Street, Suite 8330 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Eduardo Garcia California State Assembly 1021 O Street, Suite 8210 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Request for Inclusion of \$250 Million for Delta Levees Maintenance Subventions Program in Climate Resilience Bond

Dear Pro Tem McGuire, Speaker Rivas, Senator Allen, and Assemblymember Garcia:

On behalf of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California (Metropolitan) and the Delta Counties Coalition (DCC), we write to express our collective support for the inclusion of \$250 million for the Delta Levee Maintenance Subventions Program (Subventions Program) in a climate resilience bond during this legislative session. This funding is essential for the ongoing maintenance and enhancement of critical levee infrastructure within the Sacramento-San Joaquin River Delta.

Metropolitan, in collaboration with 26 member agencies and retail suppliers, provides water to 19 million individuals in Southern California. DCC is an alliance comprised of elected County Supervisors from Contra Costa, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Solano, and Yolo. This joint request underscores our shared commitment to safeguarding both Delta communities and Southern

The Honorable Mike McGuire The Honorable Robert Rivas The Honorable Ben Allen The Honorable Eduardo Garcia June 19, 2024 Page 2

California, which depends on supplies that flow through the Delta. In collaboration with the Department of Water Resources, our joint efforts have focused on advocating for sustained investment in the Subventions Program.

The Subventions Program plays a pivotal role in reimbursing local maintenance agencies and reclamation districts for the upkeep and repair of the extensive levee network throughout the Delta. This program not only protects vital water supplies, infrastructure, transportation routes, and energy corridors but also preserves the delicate balance of ecosystems and habitats within the region. By investing in proactive maintenance and improvements that meet modern levee standards, we can advance the resilience of the Delta region and be better prepared as a state to withstand the challenges of future climate change, sea-level rise, flood, and seismic activity.

In light of the critical importance of the Delta's system of levees, Metropolitan has added this request for the Subventions Program to its existing board approved priorities. Collectively we urge you to prioritize the allocation of \$250 million for the Subventions Program within the upcoming climate resilience bond proposal. Since its inception in 1973, and the passage of Prop 1E and Prop 84 in 2006, the Subventions Program has proven to be successful and effective. By securing adequate funding for the Subventions Program, we can enhance the resilience of the Delta region in the face of evolving climate patterns.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, should you have any questions about this request, please contact Jay Jefferson, Metropolitan's Executive Legislative Representative at (916) 538-4663 or via email at jjeffersonii@mwdh2o.com, or Elisia De Bord, Delta Counties Coalition Coordinator, at (916) 874-4627 or deborde@saccounty.gov.

Sincerely,

Adán Ortega Board Chair

Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Patrick Hume, Chair

Supervisor, Sacramento County

Delta Counties Coalition

The Honorable Mike McGuire The Honorable Robert Rivas The Honorable Ben Allen The Honorable Eduardo Garcia June 19, 2024 Page 3

cc: Delta Caucus

Senator Bill Dodd (Chair) Senator Angelique Ashby Senator Susan Eggman Senator Steve Glazer Senator Roger Niello Senator Nancy Skinner Assemblymember Aguiar-Curry Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan Assemblymember Heath Flora Assemblymember Grayson, Assemblymember Josh Hoover Assemblymember Kevin McCarty Assemblymember Stephanie Nguyen Assemblymember Carlos Villapudua Assemblymember Buffy Wicks Assemblymember Lori Wilson