Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

July 29, 2024

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor 1021 O Street, Suite 9000 Sacramento, CA 95814

Governor Newsom:

As Representatives of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta (Delta), we are writing to express our continued concern and opposition to the Delta Conveyance Project (Delta Tunnel). Throughout the process of this proposed project, we have consistently voiced our opposition based on the economic and environmental damage the Delta Tunnel would have in our districts. From exacerbating water quality issues for our local agriculture and wildlife to creating water scarcity, this project's unintended consequences will be a calamity in our communities. With the new estimated cost of the Delta Tunnel project at over \$20 billion, \$4 billion higher than the previous estimate, we remain steadfast in our belief this project is the wrong way forward to address California's water challenges.

All of us are all too familiar with the impacts of climate change, including record setting drought and historic atmospheric rivers. As the climate changes, so must our approach to water management. Rather than amending a decades olds proposal such as the Delta Tunnel, we must be forward thinking. This includes increasing our water storage capacity, modernizing our existing conveyance infrastructure to limit evaporation, increasing our water use efficiency, and more, which have all seen significant federal interest and investment. Projects such as Sites Reservoir and expansion of Los Vaqueros Reservoir, as well as continued efforts to replenish our groundwater aqueducts, will yield significant water storage without putting a strain on the environment. These alternatives to the Delta Tunnel both costs less and can be completed faster.

Please know that we stand ready to work with you and your administration to address these concerns as well as continue to ensure federal resources are provided to improve our water infrastructure.

Sincerely,

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

4 a Janannenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress